Taya Valkyrie Is Officially The Longest Reigning IMPACT Knockouts Champion

Taya Valkyrie Is Officially The Longest Reigning IMPACT Knockouts Champion

On October 12th, Taya Valkyrie became the longest-reigning IMPACT Knockouts Champion by bettering Taryn Terrell’s record reign of 279 days. She won the title for the first time on January 6, 2019, at Impact Wrestling’s Homecoming event by beating Tessa Blanchard. Since then, she has defended and retained against notable names, including Madison Rayne, Jordynne Grace, Su Yung, Havok, and Rosemary.

There has been some dispute on what the record actually was because IMPACT Wrestling had already acknowledged Taya as the longest-reigning champion at the start of September. This was because of how IMPACT has decided to count title runs.

Taryn Terrell, the previous longest reigning champion had won the title on September 19, 2014, but it wasn’t until November 19, 2014, that the match was aired. She would then lose the title on June 25, 2015, but it was not until July 15, 2015, that it aired. Technically that puts Taryn Terrell’s reign at 238 days, but based on air dates is 279. So it’s all a matter of your viewpoint.

Either way, there is no longer any debate on who is the longest-reigning champion, as it is now Valkyrie either way.

Valkyrie is no stranger to record-breaking reigns as she was AAA’s Reina de Reinas Champion for 945 days, between 17th August 2014 and 19th March 2017.

While her Reina de Reinas reign will likely stand for many years, if not decades, there is a realistic chance her run as IMPACT Knockouts Champion could come to an end against Tenille Dashwood at IMPACT’s Bound For Glory PPV, next Sunday.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Input your e-mail address below.

Please select "I agree to get email updates" option.

Email field is required to subscribe..

In case you missed it: